Scientific Publications


Adaptive Database Synchronization for an Online Analytical Cloud-to-Edge Continuum

Daniel Costa, José Pereira, Ricardo Vilaça and Nuno Faria

37th Annual ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (2022)

BIANFE: Object identification and authentication in federated scenarios

Carolina Gonçalves, Bruno Sousa and Nuno Antunes

IEEE 19th Annual Consumer Communications & Networking Conference (2022)

AIDA-DB: A Data Management Architecture for the Edge and Cloud Continuum

Nuno Faria, Daniel Costa, José Pereira, Ricardo Vilaça, Luís Ferreira and Fábio Coelho

1st International Workshop on Secure FunctiON ChAining and FederaTed AI (2022) 


Towards Generic Fine-Grained Transaction Isolation in Polystores

Nuno Faria, José Pereira, Ana Nunes Alonso and Ricardo Vilaça

Heterogeneous Data Management, Polystores, and Analytics for Healthcare (DMAH @ VLDB 2021)

A Probabilistic Model Checking Approach to Self-Adapting Machine Learning Systems

Maria Casimiro, David Garlan, Javier Cámara and Luís Rodrigues, Paolo Romano

Springer International Publishing (2021)

Injecting software faults in Python applications

Henrique Marques, Nuno Laranjeiro and Jorge Bernardino 

Empirical Software Engineering, Volume 27, Article Number 20 (2022) 


PyMTDEvaluator: A Tool for Time-Based Moving Target Defense Evaluation

Matheus Torquato, Paulo Maciel e Marco Vieira

32nd International Symposium on Software Reliability Engineering (ISSRE 2021)

VM Migration Scheduling as Moving Target Defense against Memory DoS Attacks: An Empirical Study

Matheus Torquato e Marco Vieira

26th IEEE Symposium on Computers and Communications (ISCC 2021)

Characterizing Buffer Overflow Vulnerabilities in Large C/C++ Projects

José D’Abruzzo Pereira, Naghmeh Ivaki, Marco Vieira

IEEE Access, Volume 9 (2021)

Geolocate: A geolocation-aware scheduling system for Edge Computing

Joao Vilaça, João Paulo, Ricardo Vilaça

1st Workshop on High-Performance and Reliable Big Data (HPBD 2021)

Machine Learning to Combine Static Analysis Alerts with Software Metrics to Detect Security Vulnerabilities: An Empirical Study

José D’Abruzzo Pereira, João R. Campos e Marco Vieira

17th European Dependable Computing Conference (EDCC)

Self-Adaptation for Machine Learning Based Systems

Maria Casimiro, Paolo Romano, David Garlan, Gabriel A. Moreno, Eunsuk Kang, Mark Klein

1st International Workshop on Software Architecture and Machine Learning (SAML)

Horus: Non-Intrusive Causal Analysis of Distributed Systems Logs

Francisco Neves, Nuno Machado, Ricardo Vilaça, José Pereira

51st Annual IEEE/IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks (DSN 2021)


Totally-Ordered Prefix Parallel Snapshot Isolation

Nuno Faria, José Pereira

8th Workshop on Principles and Practice of Consistency for Distributed Data (PaPoC @ EuroSys 2021)


Partially Monotonic Learning for Neural Networks

Joana Trindade, João Vinagre, Kelwin Fernandes, Nuno Paiva, Alípio Jorge

19th International Symposium on Intelligent Data Analysis (IDA 2021)

Efficient Privacy Preserving Distributed K-Means for Non-IID Data

André Brandão, Ricardo Mendes, João P. Vilela

19th International Symposium on Intelligent Data Analysis (IDA 2021)

Analysis of VM Migration Scheduling as Moving Target Defense against insider attacks

Matheus Torquato, Paulo Maciel, Marco Vieira

ACM/SIGAPP Symposium on Applied Computing (ACM SAC 2021)


On the Use of Open-Source C/C++ Static AnalysisTools in Large Projects

José D’Abruzzo Pereira, Marco Vieira 

16th European Dependable Computing Conference (EDCC 2020)

An Availability Model for DSS and OLTP Applications in Virtualized Environments

Matheus Torquato, Charles F. Goncalves, Marco Vieira

16th European Dependable Computing Conference (EDCC 2020)

Vulnerability Analysis as Trustworthiness Evidence in Security Benchmarking: A Case Study on Xen

Charles F. Gonçalves, Nuno Antunes

5th IEEE International Workshop on Reliability and Security Data Analysis (RSDA 2020) 

Fault Injection to Generate Failure Data for Failure Prediction: A Case Study

João R. Campos, Ernesto Costa

31st International Symposium on Software Reliability Engineering (ISSRE 2020)

Using Attack Injection to Evaluate Intrusion Detection Effectiveness in Container-based Systems

J. Flora, P. Gonçalves, N. Antunes

25th IEEE Pacific Rim International Symposium on Dependable Computing (PRDC 2020)

Vulnerable Code Detection Using Software Metrics and Machine Learning

Nádia Medeiros, Naghmeh Ivaki, Pedro Costa, Marco Vieira 

IEEE Access